Main Menu

The sweeping tax reform legislation known as the “Tax Cuts and Jobs Act” (TCJA) includes several provisions that will have broad implications on businesses and individual taxpayers. It is the most expansive federal tax legislation in more than 30 years, and the impact will be different for each business and individual.

The Brown Smith Wallace Tax Services practice, made up of more than 70 professionals, is here to answer your tax planning questions. To schedule a meeting to discuss your overall strategy, please complete the adjacent form, or reach out to the subject matter experts listed below.

Tax Reform Q&A - TCJA Hot Topics

Our tax subject matter experts have been fielding many questions related to tax reform impact since the TCJA was signed into law. Read the articles below for the latest insights from our tax experts on some of the most pressing topics related to tax reform.

Kevin Boeving, Tax Principal - TCJA Hot Topics: Pass-Through vs. C Corporation - What Business Owners Need to Know

Marty Doerr, Tax Partner in Charge - TCJA Hot Topics: Tax Reform Highlights

Jen Vacha, Tax Principal - TCJA Hot Topics: Tax Reform Impact to NPOs

Rob Haggerty, Tax Partner - TCJA Hot Topics: Cost Segregation

Darla Hemmann, Tax Partner - TCJA Hot Topics: Business Interest Deduction Limitation

Debbie Vandeven, Tax Principal - TCJA Hot Topics: Changes to Excess Business Loss and Net Operating Losses

Tax Reform Webinars

Access a recording of our December 5, 2018 webinar, "Year-End Tax Planning Strategies for Businesses and Individuals," by clicking here and submitting a short form. (Please note: The recording does not qualify for CPE.)

Access a recording of our February 27, 2018, webinar, "Tax Reform: Changes Impacting Business Owners," by clicking here and submitting a short form(Please note: The recording does not qualify for CPE.)

Access a recording of our February 1, 2018, webinar, "Tax Reform: What Businesses Need to Do Now," by clicking here and submitting a short form. (Please note: The recording does not qualify for CPE.)

Subject Matter Experts

Bonus Depreciation, Cost Segregation, Qualified Improvement Property

Robert Haggerty, Tax Partner
314.983.1311
rhaggerty@bswllc.com

Entity Planning (including business losses, meals & entertainment, interest deductions and 20% deduction for qualified business pass-through income)

Kevin Boeving, Tax Principal
314.824.5225
kboeving@bswllc.com

Estate Planning

David Heilich, Tax Partner
314.983.1273
dheilich@bswllc.com

Ann Holtshouser, Tax Partner
314.983.1277
aholtshouser@bswllc.com

Individual Deductions

Darla Hemmann, Tax Partner
314.983.1203
dhemmann@bswllc.com

Debbie Vandeven, Tax Principal
314.983.1386
dvandeven@bswllc.com

International Tax

Doug Eckert, Tax Partner
314.983.1268
deckert@bswllc.com

Private Equity (including carried interest and compensation)

Doug Eckert, Tax Partner
314.983.1268
deckert@bswllc.com

Bryan Graiff, Transaction Advisory Partner
314.983.1390
bgraiff@bswllc.com

Robert Haggerty, Tax Partner
314.983.1311
rhaggerty@bswllc.com

State and Local Taxes – Income Tax

Pam Huelsman, Tax Principal
314.983.1392
phuelsman@bswllc.com

State and Local Taxes – Sales Tax

Bernard Ottenlips, Tax Principal
314.687.2375
bottenlips@bswllc.com

Amy Jackson, Tax Manager
314.983.1336
ajackson@bswllc.com

Tax Reform Insights

Back to Page